Home / About us / Committee members

Committee members

ECART members are appointed by the Minister of Health for a three-year term up to a maximum of six years.

The members represent a broad range of disciplines, professions and interests including expertise in ethics, health and disability, Māori health and consumer advocacy.

Current ECART members are listed below:

Iris Reuvecamp (Chair)Iris Reuvecamp (Chair)

Iris was appointed Chair of ECART in August 2015.
Iris is a barrister and solicitor, and has many years of experience specialising in health and disability law in both the UK and NZ. Iris has worked as in-house counsel and as an external adviser for a wide range of health and disability sector clients. Iris currently practises as a sole practitioner at Vida Law.
Iris’ practice includes advising on administrative and public law issues; civil litigation and judicial review processes; complaints, inquiries, investigations and inquests; corporate and clinical governance (including conflicts of interest and legal compliance); health sector policy; privacy law; health sector procurement and contracting; health sector employment; mental health; personal welfare and protection of personal and property rights; personal injury, treatment injury and accident compensation; and professional regulation.
Iris has a Bachelor of Law (Honours) and a Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology and Criminology from Victoria University of Wellington (1998), and a Masters in Bioethics and Health Law (Distinction) from the University of Otago (2012). She is a member of the Institute of Directors (2014) and an associate member of the Arbitrators’ and Mediators’ Institute of New Zealand (2016). She is currently undertaking a Master of Laws at the University of Auckland specializing in human rights.

Dr Carolyn MasonDr Carolyn Mason

Carolyn Mason is currently a Lecturer in Ethics at the University of Canterbury (2001–present). Prior to this she was a Lecturer at Lincoln University (2000), and a Science Research Technician (1979 –1985). Dr Mason completed a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and Philosophy (1992), a Master of Arts in Philosophy (1999) and a Doctor of Philosophy in Philosophy at the University of Canterbury (2013).

Dr Mason was a member and Chair of the Upper South A Regional Ethics Committee (2005–2008), and a member and Deputy Chair of the Canterbury Regional Health and Disability Ethics Committee (2002–2004).

Dr Mason’s was appointed for a second term as a member with expertise in ethics on 03 August 2015.

Dr Freddie GrahamDr Freddie Graham

Freddie Graham is currently a gynaecologist at Fertility Associates (1987 – present). Prior to this he was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Auckland (1975–1986).

Dr Graham completed a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery at London University (1968), a Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons from the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (1973), and is a Member of the Royal College Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (1975).

He also completed a Fellowship of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (1982).

Dr Graham established New Zealand’s first IVF unit at National Women’s Hospital in 1983 and with Richard Fisher he established New Zealand’s first private fertility clinic (Fertility Associates) in 1987.

He was awarded the Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for his services to medicine in 2009.

Dr Graham was appointed for a second term as a member with expertise in human reproductive research on 03 August 2015.

Dr Paul Copland

Dr Copland has a Bachelor of Science with Honours in Biochemistry from Otago University and completed his Doctoral research on Embryonic Stem Cell Research and the Metaphysics of Identity in 2004.

He served two terms as the ethicist member of the Multi Region Ethics Committee (MREC) from 2008-2012 before moving to Australia to manage research ethics committees for a large University.  

Current research interests include the role of ethics committees in promoting research integrity.

Paul was appointed as a member with expertise in human reproductive research in August 2015.

Ms Michelle StantonMichelle Stanton

Michele is a solicitor with a particular interest in medico-legal and employment law in the health sector.

As a Director of Health Professional Legal Services Limited, Michele acts as legal counsel for health professionals on behalf of insurer New Zealand Medical Professionals Ltd. Michele’s work also includes legal and advocacy advice from the NZ Resident Doctors Association, NZ Medical Laboratory Workers Union and APEX.

Michele is a member of the Auckland District Law Society Health & Disability Law Committee, and a Board member of the Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities.

Michele has served on the Physiotherapy Board of New Zealand, under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 and is a former member of the UNITEC Research Ethics Committee, and a former lawyer member of Northern X, and Northern A Health and Disability Ethics Committees.

Michele has a Diploma in Business Studies from Massey University (1998), and Bachelor of English from the University of Canterbury (1981) a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Canterbury (1984), and a Graduate Diploma in Law from the University of Auckland (1988).

Michele’s background includes advocacy, research ethics, occupational regulation and quality assurance in the financial services, education and health sectors.

Michelle was appointed as a member with the ability to articulate issues from a consumer perspective in July 2015.

Jude Venning CharltonJude Venning Charlton

Jude was born with a physical disability, and has always been a fighter for disability rights, particularly in relation to access, education and employment.

Jude gained a degree in Sociology and Education, as an adult student at Canterbury University. Since then, she has worked in disability support on campus at CPIT and Lincoln University.. During her time on campus, Jude traveled overseas, on a Churchill Fellowship, meeting disabled students, and disability support staff.

Her background also includes working as an educator for the Human Rights Commission, and an advocate in the disability sector.

Jude has also enjoyed working as a volunteer teaching English to Refugees and Migrants, and was a founding member of the Disabled Persons Assembly.

She is currently enjoying grandchildren and semi-retirement, while working part time for CCS Disability Action, giving disability awareness presentations to schools and the wider community.

Photo of Mary. Dr Mary Birdsall

Mary is chair of the Fertility Associates board and one of the most sought after fertility specialists within New Zealand. Mary is innovative, caring and has a breadth of experience across all aspects of fertility care.

Mary specialises in the latest fertility technologies, including egg preservation, genetic screening and has advocated for patients to be able to access new treatments such as ovarian tissue transplants for cancer patients.

Mary also publishes regular articles including a regular review in the Fertility Research Review, and is a recognised media spokesperson across all fertility topics. Mary has also published the Fertility Associates book 'Making Babies'.

Mary graduated from Auckland Medical School followed by post-graduate training at National Women's Hospital. She was awarded a Nuffield Scholarship and completed a Masters Degree in Human Reproduction at Oxford University from 1993 to 1996. Mary returned to New Zealand in 1996 and joined Fertility Associates.